Sophie’s Barnyard 3rd Birthday Bash

While walking through the party isle at target a few months back I never really imagined Sophie would say she wanted a farm party. She LOVES animals but I was so sure the explosion of pink princesses, Minnie Mouses, and girly galore items would catch her attention and over rule any dreams of me getting to go all out with farm decor. But it stuck! She told everyone we know that she is having a barnyard birthday and was so excited even though I don’t think she had a clue what I had up my sleeve. 

We found the perfect invites on Etsy and got some super cute sassy pics outback in our Harlow Jade jean overalls and rleecouture hair wrap. 

My best friend is my go to for all things animal related and recommended Peaceable Kingdoms petting zoo based out of Perkasie Pa. I signed up for their small petting zoo and my same friend just so happens to co own a pony. It was perfect. 

 

The kids each got pony rides and were able to get in the gates with the other animals and pet and cuddle them til the cows came home (not literally – cows were in the bigger package lol). 



They even brought a few awesome exotic animals to look at. Like Pete the prarie dog and pumpkin the fox. 


I kept decor inside pretty simple just using what we already had that was farm related. And took some fabric I had from making a Woody from toy story fabric banner and made a few super cute garlands. 

Some how I missed a picture of our  food selection but we went traditional BBQ with pulled pork sliders and Mac n Cheese from our local spot, Fireside Bar and Grill in Trevose Pa. We also had corn on the cob, baked beans, hot dogs, pasta salad, Cole slaw and garden salad. For apps we had fresh fruit and veggies, and Horizon’s cheddar cows on each table to snack on. All our table covers, plates and napkins were traditional picnic table red and white gingham from the Dollar Tree – major score! 


The one plus of having a party at home is having fun drinks for the adults. We had lemonade and iced tea that you could add to if you wanted to at “the watering hole”. 


Chris, Sophie and I all helped out to make a super fun bean bag toss game out of broken up dry wall we had lying around since we are redoing the basement. Sophie and I sewed some beans into extra fabric I had. And we got these hay ales from our local farm for super cheap. 


Well worth it for these photo ops! And I also put together a selfie station using a red table cover and some white duct tape from the dollar store. 


Our dessert table was my favorite. We had haybales (Rice Krispie treats), tractor wheels (Oreos), pig pen (dirt pudding), cow tails, peeps, and of course the cake and cupcake from a local baker that works out of her home in Northeast Philadelphia. If you are local I highly recommend Sweet Melissa’s Krazy Cakes – check her out on Facebook. I won’t go anywhere else. 

It was an amazing day with amazing family and friends there to help us celebrate my sweet girls birthday. 


All the little beauties left with good baskets packed with farm goodies from oriental trading, contains, bubbles and home made corn on the cob made from kix cereal. 


She told me before going to bed that she had the best day ever and it made every single second of this last week of planning so worth it. 

Leave a Reply

